About the artwork

image

Laying the first stone is the symbolic act by which the construction work of a new building officially begins. For th first stone of New Zebra the artist Honoré d 'O was asked to create an artistic intervention. Honoré d 'O opted to integrate this stone not in a fixed but instead in a loose way into the building.

Like a seismographic eye ditto principle, this loose, symbolic first stone offers a glimpse at the universe of Honoré d 'O. The stone is hollow, and lays on a loose surface, that moves when it is touched. The black round 'marble' inside symbolizes not only the pearl in which the universe could be reflected, but also the (third) eye representing the acts of watching and being watched. A red light is flashing continuously, thus suggesting to be a security camera. To this is attached a glass marble, which contrasts with the black pearl and thus emphasizes the link between the visible and the invisible, between revelation and concealment. The polystyrene beads contrast with the tangibility and the weight of the marble. They typify the weightlessness and antimatter, as well as the desire of Honoré d 'O not to consider his artwork as a simple object but to see it as a variable, living 'organism', through which established facts are reversed.

In this work, that Honoré d 'O has designed especially for New Zebra, the (invisibility of) technology in the society we live in today goes hand in hand with the mythology of the wit and its relationship with the cosmos.

À propos de l'œuvre

image

La pose de la première pierre est un acte symbolique par lequel commencent officiellement les travaux de construction d'un bâtiment. Pour la première pierre de New Zebra, l'artiste Honoré d 'O a été demandé de faire une intervention artistique. Honoré d 'O a choisi d'intégrer cette pierre non pas d'une manière fixe, mais d'une manière libre dans le bâtiment.

Comme un oeil et un principe sismographiques, cette pierre symbolique non fixée offre une vue sur l'univers d'Honoré d 'O. La pierre est creuse, et est posée sur une surface mouvante, qui se déplace quand elle est touchée. La bille noire symbolise non seulement la perle dans laquelle l'univers pourrait être reflété, mais aussi le (troisième) oeil qui symbolise les actes de voir et d'être vu. Une lampe rouge clignote en permanence, suggérant qu'il s'agit d'une caméra de surveillance. Y est fixée une bille en verre, contrastant avec la perle noire et accentuant ainsi le lien entre le visible et l'invisible, entre la révélation et la dissimulation. Les billes de polystyrène sont opposées à la tangibilité et au poids de la bille noire. Elles caractérisent l'apesanteur et l'antimatière, ainsi que le désir d'Honoré d 'O de ne pas voir ses oeuvres comme de simples objets, mais de les considérer comme un 'organisme' variable, vivant, inversant ainsi des faits établis.

Dans cette oeuvre, que Honoré d 'O a conçue spécialement pour New Zebra, (l'invisibilité de) la technologie dans la société où nous vivons actuellement, est accompagnée de la mythologie de l'esprit et sa relation avec le cosmos.