About the artwork

image

Dominique Sarraute, daughter of Nathalie Sarraute, French writer of Russian origin, is passionate about industrial engineering. Originally a painter and photographer, she offers since several years her artistic talents to the big names in the industry who want to sublimate their products. With a tireless enthusiasm Sarraute shows us another life of industrial objects, giving them a rich and colorful imagination, mysterious and psychedelic, which rejects their banality or function as an accessory.

It started with a poster of an electric battery that she noticed while waiting in a subway station. This battery looked lifeless, flat and depressed. Sarraute, who looks to objects with the eyes of a painter, wanted to place these mass products in a different spatial context, and thus offer them the opportunity to show their qualities and dynamics while rejecting their banality. Sarraute has attention to detail, but without depriving the objects of their identity. Zooming in on a detail creates a whole new universe.

The theme: industrial mass products, intended to be used and not looked at. This purely utilitarian function gives them their extreme rigor and accuracy. The object is perfectly clear, recognizable, but recreated with a new life. The object refers only to itself. She tries to show the objects in a different way, giving them a different reality, so that the viewer might see them differently and discover their beauty.

À propos de l'œuvre

image

Dominique Sarraute, fille de Nathalie Sarraute, écrivain français d'origine russe, est passionnée par l'ingénierie industrielle. D'abord peintre et photographe, elle met depuis un certain temps ses talents artistiques au service des grands noms de l'industrie pour sublimer leurs produits. Avec un enthousiasme infatigable Sarraute nous montre un autre aspect de la vie d'objets industriels, en les dotant d'une imagination riche et colorée, mystérieuse et psychédélique, et en rejetant leur banalité ou leur fonction d'accessoire.

Tout a commencé avec l'affiche d'une batterie électrique qu'elle a remarquée en attendant dans une station de métro. Cette batterie semblait sans vie, plate et déprimée. Sarraute, qui regarde les objets avec les yeux du peintre, cherchait à positionner ces produits de masse dans un contexte spatial différent et à leur donner ainsi l'occasion de montrer leurs qualités et leur dynamique en surpassant leur banalité. Sarraute a le souci du détail, mais sans priver les objets de leur identité. Le zoom sur un détail débouche sur un nouvel univers.

Le thème: produits de masse industriels, destinés à être utilisés mais pas observés. Cette fonction purement utilitaire leur confère une extrême rigueur et précision. L'objet est parfaitement clair, reconnaissable, mais comme tel semble recréé, doté d'une nouvelle vie. L'objet se réfère uniquement à lui-même. Elle essaie de représenter les objets d'une manière différente, en leur donnant une autre réalité, de sorte que le spectateur les interprète différemment et découvre leur beauté cachée.