About the artwork

image

From the series Martyrs (Earth, Air, Fire, Water), consisting in its entirety of four plasma screens, the element 'Fire' is displayed here. In this series, which is shown since 2014 at St. Paul's Cathedral in London, each figure is gradually overwhelmed by an attack by a natural element. The dominant theme is martyrdom, the physical suffering of the body, symbolized by the four elements.

The Greek word for martyr originally means 'witness', and Viola explains that martyrs, "through the human ability to endure pain, hardship and even death", remain faithful to their values, beliefs and principles. Like many of Viola's works, Martyrs leads to contemporary contemplation about life, death and the afterlife.

According to Bill Viola: "As the work opens, four individuals are shown in stasis, a pause from their suffering. Gradually there is movement in each scene as an element of nature begins to disturb their stillness. Flames rain down, winds begin to lash, water cascades, and earth flies up. As the elements rage, each martyr's resolve remains unchanged. In their most violent assault, the elements represent the darkest hour of the martyr's passage through death into the light."

Martyrs, made in close collaboration with Bill Viola's partner Kira Perov, was the first permanent installation of a video work in a cathedral or church in Britain. It is the first direct collaboration between St Paul's and Tate Modern accross the Millennium Bridge.

À propos de l'œuvre

image

De la série Martyrs (Terre, Air, Feu, Eau), qui se compose dans son ensemble de quatre écrans plasma, l?élément « Feu » est montré ici. Dans cette série, exposée depuis 2014 à la cathédrale Saint-Paul à Londres, chaque personage est progressivement accablé par une attaque d'un élément naturel. Le thème dominant est le martyre, la souffrance physique du corps, symbolisée par les quatre éléments.

A l?origine, le mot grec pour martyr signifie « témoin », et Viola explique que les martyrs, « grâce à la capacité de l'homme d'endurer la douleur, la souffrance et même la mort », restent fidèles à leurs valeurs, croyances et principes. Comme beaucoup d'oeuvres de Viola, Martyrs mène à une contemplation contemporaine sur la vie, la mort et l'au-delà.

Selon Bill Viola : « Quand les oeuvres commencent, quatre personnes sont en état de stase, une pause dans leur souffrance. Peu à peu, il y aura un mouvement dans chaque scène, quand un élément naturel viendra troubler leur paix. Des flammes tombent du ciel, le vent commence à hurler, l'eau tombe, et le sol se soulève. Alors que les éléments se déchaînent, chaque martyr reste immuable. Lors des attaques les plus violentes, les éléments représentent les moments les plus sombres que passent les martyrs au cours de leurs voyages à travers la mort vers la lumière ».

Martyrs, oeuvre réalisée en étroite collaboration avec Kira Perov, partenaire de Bill Viola, était la première installation permanente d'une oeuvre vidéo dans une cathédrale ou une église en Grande-Bretagne. Il s'agit de la première collaboration directe entre Saint-Paul et le Tate Modern de chaque côté du pont du Millénaire.