About the artwork

image

Ned Kahn creates artworks that visualize the invisible forces of nature such as, for instance, the movement of the air when there is wind, which can bring small metal discs into motion. The author qualifies these artworks as 'detectors', since they work in a similar way as detectors in electronic telescopes and other scientific instruments that translate the effects of invisible forces visually. The unseen patterns of wind are complex and enchanting. The psychological effect is the same as when observing fire, or waves on the water surface, or high grasses moving with the wind. The sizzling sculpture captures the wind and sunlight and is installed at the rear of the Zebrastraat site, opening onto the atrium of New Zebra.

One of the paradoxical properties of some of the more recent wind sculptures is that they show more as one observes them from a greater distance, since the individually moving disks so to say merge together and show the hidden patterns of the wind.
The artwork is completely powered by the wind. The sunlight, the clouds, the surrounding buildings or the nightly illumination are reflected by the disks that move under the influence of the air, and the artwork is thus basically a continuation of the sky.

It is the intention of the artist to create a work that permanently changes, from day to day, with the seasons, and that is inextricably linked to the atmosphere, invisible substance that allows all life, including our own. The pixel-like structure of the wind powered surface is also a reference to high-tech computer animation, although the technology is very simple, and really just involves a set of cables and plates.

À propos de l'œuvre

image

Ned Kahn créé des oeuvres qui visualisent les forces invisibles de la nature, comme notamment le mouvement de l'air en cas de vent peut mouvoir des plaquettes métalliques. L'auteur qualifie ces oeuvres de 'détecteurs', car elles fonctionnent de la même manière que les détecteurs de télescopes électroniques et d'autres instruments scientifiques qui traduisent visuellement les effets des forces invisibles. Les motifs invisibles du vent sont complexes et enchanteurs. L'effet psychologique est identique à celui qu'on sent en observant le feu, ou les vagues à la surface de l'eau, ou les hautes herbes qui bougent avec le vent. La sculpture grésillante capture le vent et le soleil, et est installée à l'arrière du site Zebrastraat qui donne sur l'atrium de New Zebra.

Une des propriétés paradoxales de certaines sculptures de vent les plus récentes, c'est qu'elles montrent plus si on les observe de loin, puisque les plaquettes individuelles semblent se fusionner pour dévoiler les motifs cachés du vent.

L'oeuvre d'art est entièrement mue par le vent. La lumière du soleil, les nuages, les bâtiments attenants ou l'illumination nocturne sont reflétés par les plaquettes métalliques qui bougent sous l'influence du vent, et l'oeuvre d'art est donc essentiellement une prolongation du ciel.

L'artiste a l'intention de créer une oeuvre qui change en permanence, chaque jour, chaque saison, et qui est indissociable de la couche atmosphérique, substance invisible qui permet à tous, y compris à nous, de vivre. La structure pixellisée de la surface mue par le vent est également une référence à l'animation créée à l'aide de logiciels sophistiqués, bien que la technologie soit très simple, et implique uniquement un ensemble de câbles et de plaquettes.