About the artwork

image

The photo is a reminder and makes us think about the time passing. The original printed photo has been left outside for a while, so that the rain, the wind and the sun could leave their mark. Once the proper impression was obtained, the photographer fixed it as a pastel.

The displayed image is related to our fears and phobias. This work can make us aware of the passage of time and makes us think again about disappearance, blurring, forgetfulness. The elephant is part of a series in which the future of animal species is central.
The choice for the image of the elephant and the place is not accidental. New Zebra is located across the Dierentuinlaan, between Olifantstraat and Zebrastraat, avenue and streets with animal names reminding us of the Zoo in the near Muinkpark which attracted many visitors in the late 19th century, but has ingloriously disappeared since.

À propos de l'œuvre

image

La photo est un rappel et nous fait réfléchir sur le temps qui passe. L'impression originale de la photo a été pendant un certain temps exposée à la pluie, au vent et au soleil qui ont pu laisser leur marque. Une fois l'impression souhaitée avait été obtenue, le photographe a rentré la photo à l'intérieur.

L'image présentée se relate à nos peurs et à nos phobies. Cette oeuvre peut nous faire prendre conscience de l'écoulement du temps et nous fait réfléchir sur la disparition, le flou, l'oubli. L'éléphant fait partie d'une série dans laquelle l'avenir des espèces animales occupe une place centrale.
Le choix de l'image de l'éléphant et du lieu n'est pas un hasard. New Zebra est situé en face de la Dierentuinlaan, entre Olifantstraat et Zebrastraat, avenue et rues avec des noms d'animaux qui nous rappellent le zoo situé à l'époque au Muinkpark et qui a attiré de nombreux visiteurs à la fin du 19ème siècle, mais qui a disparu sans gloire depuis lors.