About the artwork

image

The series 'The origin of the beginning' by Levi van Veluw consists of pictures, installations and videos in which he departs from his memories of his childhood which he allows to evolve into his self-portrait by following a thematic and narrative path.

In a room five people are sitting at a table. These individuals are Levi Van Veluw, his father, mother, brother and sister. The space is decorated like a life-size installation (4 x 2.5 x 2.5 m) in which everything, including the family members, are covered with 20,000 dark brown cubes (without any digital manipulation).
At first sight, everyone seems to be sitting quietly at the table, the image of a perfect family portrait. Yet this group of figures is placed in an abstract environment, unrecognizable and therefore far away from reality. Dim light and rather dark tones give this work a claustrophobic, gloomy look showing an atmosphere of loneliness.

The nasty silence and dark atmosphere expose the uncomfortable tensions and emotions. The endless repetition of wooden cubes represent Veluw's attempt to get over his own position within the family structure. This family reunion was organized at the request of Van Veluw after years of separation.

À propos de l'œuvre

image

La série L'origine du début de Levi van Veluw se compose de photos, d'installations et de vidéos dans lesquelles il s'écarte de ses souvenirs de son enfance qu'il permet de se développer, suivant un sentier thématique et narratif, à devenir son auto-portrait.

Dans une chambre cinq individus se trouvent autour d'une table. Il s'agit de Levi Van Veluw, son père, sa mère, son frère et sa soeur. L'espace est décoré comme une installation grandeur nature (4 x 2,5 x 2,5 m) où tout, y compris les membres de la famille, est couvert de 20.000 cubes marron brun (sans aucune manipulation numérique).

À première vue, tout le monde semble être assis tranquillement à table, l'image d'un portrait de famille parfaite. Pourtant, ce groupe de personnages est placé dans un environnement abstrait, méconnaissable et donc très éloigné de la réalité. L'éclairage tamisé et assez sombre donne à cette oeuvre un aspect sombre et claustrophobe, d'où se dégage une ambiance de solitude.
Le silence nuisant et l'ambiance sombre exposent les tensions et les émotions inconfortables. La répétition infinie des cubes en bois représente la tentative de Veluw à surmonter sa propre position au sein de la structure familiale. Cette réunion de famille a été organisée à la demande de Van Veluw après des années de séparation.