About the artwork

image

The social housing project Zebrastraat was built in the beginning of the 20th century (1904) as an answer to the needs of the workers. The site in the Zebrastraat, popularly called 'De Cirk', quickly acquired a sociological and political image. Workers came to live in high-rise housing close to the city center. On the oval courtyard of 'De Cirk', Edward Anseele, the top man of social emancipation, was warming up with his slogans, militants for the 1st of May procession. This place was also available for meetings. Before and after WW I, people regularly spoke about 'the beguinage of the socialists'. In this context, the three latest socialist mayors receive their tributes.

The Ghent triad is built out of Lego blocks, with from left to right, Gilbert Temmerman (Ledeberg, February 25, 1928 - Oudenaarde, January 19, 2012), Frank Beke (Ghent, August 5, 1946), and Daniël Termont (Ghent, May 19, 1953). Each of them has played an important social role, in addition to a role in the field of culture in their city of Ghent.

Frank Beke tells about Gilbert Temmerman: "He has done a lot for our city, including in the field of culture. He was responsible for the completion of Minard, the Theater at St. Bavo's Square, the Opera and the concert hall of the Bijloke. The entire urban renewal of our city was started under his leadership. Gilbert had the first anti-parking bollards placed in Ghent, which real residents of Ghent still call 'Gilberkes' today". Frank Beke has continued the project of urban renewal. According to the university, he gave, during his political career, an extra dimension to the city of Ghent, which also benefited the Ghent University, which awarded him on that ground an institutional honorary doctorate. Daniël Termont in turn manages to give

À propos de l'œuvre

image

Le projet de logement social Zebrastraat a été construit au début du 20ème siècle (1904) comme une réponse aux besoins des travailleurs. Le site de Zebrastraat, mieux connu sous le nom de «De Cirk», a rapidement acquis une image sociologique et politique. Les travailleurs sont venus vivre dans des immeubles de grande hauteur à proximité du centre-ville. Dans la cour ovale de 'De Cirk', Edward Anseele, le numéro un de l'émancipation sociale, réchauffait de ses slogans des militants pour le cortège du 1er mai. Cet endroit était également disponible pour les réunions. Avant et après la Première Guerre mondiale, les gens parlaient régulièrement du «béguinage des socialistes». Dans ce contexte, les trois derniers maires socialistes reçoivent leurs hommages.

La triade de Gand est construite avec des blocs Lego, avec de gauche à droite, Gilbert Temmerman (Ledeberg, 25 février 1928 - Audenarde, 19 janvier 2012), Frank Beke (Gand, 5 août 1946) et Daniël Termont (Gand , 19 mai 1953). Chacun d'eux a joué un rôle social important, en plus d'un rôle dans le domaine de la culture dans leur ville de Gand.

Frank Beke dit à propos de Gilbert Temmerman: "Il a beaucoup travaillé pour notre ville, y compris dans le domaine de la culture, il a été responsable de l'achèvement du Minard, du théâtre de la place St. Bavon, de l'Opéra et de la salle de concerts de Bijloke. Tout le renouveau urbain de notre ville a commencé sous sa direction: Gilbert a fait installer à Gand les premiers bollards anti-parking que les vrais Gantois appellent encore aujourd'hui des « Gilberkes ». Frank Beke a poursuivi le projet de rénovation urbaine. Selon l'université, il a donné, au cours de sa carrière politique, une dimension supplémentaire à la ville de Gand, qui a également bénéficié à l'Université de Gand, qui lui a décerné à ce titre un doctorat honorifique institutionnel. Daniël Termont à son tour parvient à donner à sa ville un statut international sans perdre son caractère populaire nécessaire.